Double the Fun? Run

Woke up bright and early Saturday morning.  Met Brenda and Melissa and ran 9 miles with the LandRunners on the Memorial Marathon course.  The run was great and I got to say hello to the the faster runners because we had an early start. The wind was not a factor in the morning and the Sun was shining bright.

Later on in the afternoon, I went to South Lakes Park in Moore to run the Double the Fun Run.  South Lakes is a beautiful  park with jogging paths, playgrounds, soccer fields, and ponds.  Awesome resource for those who live near this place.  Interestingly, its just down the road from Earlywine Park.

Double the Fun run was a 10K race.  I will try not to sound negative about this race.  The race was put on with good intentions and I suspect it was a first time race.  I will sound a little negative but I will stay as objective as possible.

Just before the race, there was a 1 mile fun run/walk.  My wife and I decided to take our 4 yr. old and 2 yr. old on it.  We began walking the 1 mile course and soon realized that the course was not closed.  Approximately 40 small kids/parents were walking on the edge of the shoulder of the road hoping cars would do the right thing and hoping that a child did not get away from our grasp and wonder out into traffic.  At one point we did see a small child get away from an older sibling.  Luckily they were able to get the child back under control.  Anyway, if one is going to have a fun run for kids, make sure the course is closed.

After the fun run/walk.  I toed the start line and off we went.  I started out slow and stayed slow most of the way.  I rarely ever run twice in one day and this would be a new boundary for me given the greater distance run in the morning.  Once again, the course was not closed to traffic.  The first water stop was at 1.5 miles.  I grabbed one cup and gulped it down.  Back on my way.  Even though the temperatures were in the 80’s, I figure i’d get another water stop chance 1.5 or so down the road.  Nope.  The next water stop was at 4.5 miles.  Needless to say, I and many of the other runners struggled with temperatures, winds, and very little water.  Having the next water stop 3 miles later down the road was not right.  Thats an entire 5K down the road without water.

One of the reasons I am going over the details is because of the potential for danger.  The chances were greatly increased for something bad happening.   Getting hit by a car or becoming dehydrated were real possibilities.  The biggest problem I saw with the race was the lack of someone checking on the runners.  Most races have someone on a bike riding by to make sure everyone is okay.  Had someone went down, i’m not sure what would have happened.  I do know medics were at the finish line but precious time would be lost finding someone to relay the message to them.

Anyway, I shut my speed down around mile 4 because I was not about to hurt myself given the conditions.  I knew that this would be a rare case of possibly medaling, but not worth it.  I ended up crossing the finish line just over an hour.  About 9 minutes slower than usual.   Glad I was done.  Thanks to Jason for stopping traffic on the final turn to the finish line.

Once again, if you periodically read my blog, then you know that I rarely complain about a race.  This is a rare instance but I need to get it out there so corrections can be made to this race for next year.  I do know that this was a LandRunner series race and they typically pick races that are runner friendly.  I am sure they were unaware of how the race was going to be set up.

Upcoming Events:

1/2 Memorial Marathon in late April  I’m also starting to reconsider San Fransisco Marathon.  I keep thinking about a 50 mile race in Tulsa on July 2nd.  Just keep wondering if I can do it.  Wonder if I can train properly for it?  Needless to say, I have a big decision coming up about that race.  I keep thinking about it.

Early June I will be riding my bike across the state of Oklahoma aka FreeWheel.

Leave a Reply

