Freewheel 2010

If one has read the last few posts, you know that i’m out of commission right now.  A quick update:  my back has good and bad days.  I do believe that I will begin running on February 1st.   I’m visiting the chiropractor three times a week right now.  He is pushing on my spine a couple of directions each time.  Trying to gain a little separation between two of lumbar vertebrae that have decided to pinch some of my nerves.

Went to the LandRunner meeting on Monday.  I renewed my membership for another year while I was there.  Dr. Tom spoke and I do enjoy hearing him discuss running injuries.  He talked about the threshold of running habits that increase the likelihood of an injury.  Run no more than 4 to 5 times a week.  Do not exceed 40 miles in a week.  Stay away from jump aerobics.

The club also revealed that the group would be taking a trip to the  Arbuckle to Ardmore marathon in late March.  This would be ideal for me if i’m healthy enough to run a half marathon.  I’m hoping for the best.

I’m especially excited tonight because I have had my first glimpse of the route for Freewheel this year.  In case you do not know, Freewheel is a week long bike tour that goes across the state of Oklahoma.  Riders ride around 60 miles a day and then camp out in a host town.  In many towns, special events are coordinated around Freewheel.  Anyway, the tour will start in Hugo and end in Joplin, Missouri.  All I have to do now is come up with enough money.

Here’s the link in case you are interested.

http://www.okfreewheel.com/archives/2010/fw2010.asp

Here’s the route.

  • Day 0, 6/12 – 24 miles, Hugo to Red River and return
  • Day 1, 6/13 – 55 miles, Hugo to Clayton
  • Day 2, 6/14 – 70 miles, Clayton to Heavener
  • Day 3, 6/15 – 71 miles, Heavener to Muldrow
  • Day 4, 6/16 – 61 miles, Muldrow to Tahlequah
  • Day 5, 6/17 – 50 miles, Tahlequah to Pryor
  • Day 6, 6/18 – 67 miles, Pryor to Miami
  • Day 7, 6/19 – 38 miles, Miami to Joplin, MO

As of right now, i’m going by myself but if any of my running buddies were interested…please let me know.  This will be a brand new experience for me and i’m stoked about going.

Final video….

One response to “Freewheel 2010

  1. Hi Glen,

    I just wanted you to know that I have been keeping you in my prayers and I know you will be out there and ready by February 1st. Also, kudos on the freewheel, this looks like it will be a lot of fun/really painful!! Which makes it all the more awesome. I think I am going to sign up for that Fight for Air stair climb in OKC, just trying to decide about the commitment to raise $100.00 for the cause.

    One question, how are you liking the spin bike you bought for home? Have you been able to use it?

    P.S. I don’t know if I could stay away from jump aerobics….

Leave a Reply

