Christmas Eve

Woke up with horrible back pain.  This does happen from time to time with me.  What do you do when you wake up with lower back pain?  Go run, of course.  Actually, I was hoping that the run would loosen up my back a little bit.  It didn’t work but thats life.

A few days ago, a running buddy from http://www.dailymile.com posted pictures of Sutton Wilderness Trails in Norman. When I saw the pictures, I was immediately drawn to them and knew I had to run these particular trails even though I had never run trails before.

Here are the pictures that he (Marlon) posted….

Sutton Wilderness Trail

Sutton Wilderness Marker

Shaded Area/Sutton Wilderness

Final Pic of Sutton Wilderness

If you take the main trail, it is 1.5 miles around.  The trail primarily winds you around a small lake.

Sutton Wilderness Lake

I really did enjoy running the trails.  Many times when I run I get lost in thoughts and I quickly discovered that trail running makes it even easier to get lost in thoughts.  The trails also remind you of who’s in charge.  Big hint…Not me.  The woods have a way of humbling you while at the same time giving you a sense of belonging.

The humbleness comes from realizing how inconsequential we are in the grand scheme of things.  We are specks in the Universe.  However, that is the beauty of things…God loves us with all of our flaws.  The belonging occurs when you look around and see and then hear all living creatures.  We have a role to play in this world.  We can chose to have a positive role or negative role.  We can embrace our belonging and take care of what has been given to us in the form of the environment or we can turn our backs and pretend that the association does not exist.

As I progress through this post, I am reminded of a Michael Jackson song about Man in the Mirror.  We wont debate the garbage that may or may not be attached to Michael but one thing for sure is that he wrote a beautiful song.

I‘m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways
And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place
(If You Wanna Make The
World A Better Place)
Take A Look At Yourself, And
Then Make A Change

Making a change in the World starts on an individual level first.  I think back to the Norman Newspaper a few years back a few individuals made a change.  They stepped up when development wanted to take over part of the Sutton Wilderness Wildlife land.  The made a difference.  Sutton Wilderness stills exists today so people like me can go, run, and get lost in thought.  It enabled me to speak and more importantly, listen to God.

Merry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

