Dallas White Rock Here I Come

It’s time to switch gears…switch them fast.  Dallas White Rock Marathon is looming in the days ahead.  I do believe that i’m physically ready but I may be lacking on the confidence.  Route 66 took alot out of me. It made me realize that I need to correct a few things that will ultimately help my running.

First and foremost, I need to lose weight.   This extra poundage is slowing me down and increasing my struggle in these races.  Don’t get me wrong, I love running and love completing long races like a marathon.  I just know that I can make my running life easier if I were 20 pounds less.  This will be a focus over the holidays and early next year.

I’m fighting addictions right now.  I am totally addicted to Dr. Pepper and overeating.  I’m not being hard on myself, just honest.  I am not turning things off when I eat.  My choices of foods are wrong and the amount is way too much. Dr. Pepper owns my mind.  Anyway, Dr. Pepper and portion amount need to fixed and weight will come down.  I know what I need to do, now it’s a matter of doing it.

Wow, I totally went off on a tangent.  Back to the race on Sunday.  My wife and kids will be with me and i’m super excited about that.  It’s encouraging to know that they will be waiting for me at the finish line.  I need such motivating factors.

After White Rock, i’m looking at the New Years Resolution Run.  Then i’ll be playing smaller races by ear.  I learned last year to not commit to a race to early.  Make sure the weather is manageable first.  The Beacon 25K taught me this lesson, the hard way.

Goals going into the new year…

  1. Lose Weight
  2. Make it to Avenue of Giants Marathon
  3. Race in ten LandRunner series races
  4. Interval Training
  5. Better Cross Training
  6. Bike–Freewheel across Oklahoma
  7. Look for ways to make a difference in the world

I’m sure i’ll have other goals as time goes on but I think this is a pretty good list.  I will post pictures of the marathon as soon as i’m able to.  It’ll take a while to get home from it.

2 responses to “Dallas White Rock Here I Come

  1. I hope to see you down in Dallas. You will do great, take it easy on yourself and enjoy the run. Those are good goals. Avenue of Giants would be wonderful…. Hmmm…

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. I may take a camera with me so it’ll make me stop some and take a picture here and there. I will send you my phone number via email in case you want to meet up. Right after the New Year i’m going to start planning the Avenue of the Giants out. Wife has given the approval. I’m going to work on you over the next few months about it. May work on Maurice too.

Leave a Reply

