Kelsey Briggs 5K Run

I ran the Kelsey Briggs 5K run this morning.  Here is a quick list of items to note…..

  1. Great cause that is dear to me
  2. Ran with my running buddies Melissa and Brenda
  3. Met new people (Kim, Amber, and Phillip)
  4. Pretty flat course
  5. Saw a few LandRunners:  Roger Lemmons, Courtney Lemmons, Kelly Kramer, Jason Tilton, and Ron Kuykendall
  6. Chilled out after the race and laughed which was much needed in my life

One final thought before getting into the pictures….I had no choice but to run this race.  As much as I thought about other races to run, I was drawn to this race (some would say convicted).  The cause was so powerful and I work in education.  Therefore child abuse prevention is a big cause to champion.

Now onto the pictures…Lots of pictures.

Public unveiling of Brenda 26.2 tattoo

Public unveiling of Brenda 26.2 tattoo

Brenda is very proud of the 26.2 tattoo and even more so what it means to her.  However, the chill of the cold weather overrode her desire to show of her new tattoo.  Maybe next time runners.

Sneaking up on Melissa

Sneaking up on Melissa

After the brief tattoo unveiling to the running world, we were graced with Melissa’s presence.  Quick story about her, we called her earlier that morning to inquire on where she was on her trip to the Boathouse.  Ends up she was driving back home because she had forgotten her running shoes.  Not as bad as forgetting a timing chip though.

Melissa still gets really nervous before a race and that explains the story above.  Can’t wait to see how she gets before the Route 66 marathon which she will be running for the first time.

Orbitz Commercial

Orbitz Commercial

Here’s a really cool pic of Melissa and Brenda.  Love the sunrise in the background.  I also joke around about the orbitz commercial because Melissa and Brenda have two the nicest smiles around.  Both of these ladies are great running buddies and friends.  Many times they’ve heard my life story as we do training runs.  I’m starting to call them my running therapists.  It’s just so amazing how a sport like running and create such strong friendship bonds.

There goes the neighborhood

There goes the neighborhood

All was quiet at the OKC Boathouse until…..Kim enters the scene.  Kim is a good friend of Melissa.  It took about 10 seconds to warm up and feel comfortable with Kim.  It’s pretty obvious to see that nice people tend to surround themselves around nice people.

Another beautiful sunrise

Another beautiful sunrise

Here’s a pic of Melissa and Kim.  I’m totally in love with the sunrise behind them.  I could probably count the number of sunrises that I have seen on two hands until I started running.  Now, I practically see one several days away.

Amber with her Gold Shoes

Amber with her Gold Shoes

Melissa’s next friend to show up was Amber.  Once again another awesome person with a definite signature look…her golden shoes.  Not to be confused with a “golden ticket.”   This little gal ran in shiny golden shoes.  I should have gotten a direct picture of them to properly do them justice in describing them.  Amber was a big reason why I ran today even though she didn’t know it.  It was a chain reaction from a Melissa and Amber conversation weeks ago.  Amber discussed with Melissa about the Kelsey Briggs run that she is involved with which in turned brought me and Brenda into the mix by running the race.

Here's the Motley Crew

Here's the Motley Crew

Here’s a photo of us all.  I do apologize for having my eyes closed.  Not the first picture I have ruined before.  Lets play…”Who doesn’t belong?”  Ding Ding Ding…that’d be me. I am surrounded by good-looking women.  I stick out like a turd in a punch bowl.

Having a group together like today really made the race extra enjoyable.  I laughed so many times this morning.

On to the Race–The race was an out and back race that started and ended at the OKC Boathouse.  The running path was a little narrow but the number of runners was kinda light so it was not a problem.  The hills were minimal and the weather was very cooperative.  The runners and volunteers were very friendly and helpful.  I started off at a medium pace and made it about a mile before I had committed a cardinal running rule.  Make sure your shoes are tied properly before running.  I had to stop and double knot one of my shoes.  After that, I settled into a fairly quick pace until the last 3/4 mile.  That was when I decide to dial it down to reduce the risk of injury.  I had proven to myself that I could hang a decent 5K time for myself and that was enough.  I’m starting to get into injury paranoid zone.  This is a zone where i’m freaking out about getting hurt or sick before I make it to the marathon.

Here I am finishing

Here I am finishing

Here I am finishing the race.  I’m under no pain or stress as I finish.  Special thanks to Phillip for taking this picture and many other photos for me.  Phillip was the silent hero today with his camera.  He took several pictures of us and of other runners.

Melissa has a 3rd in her age group finish

Melissa has a 3rd in her age group finish

The picture to the left is of Melissa finishing in 3rd place for her age group.  Told you in earlier blogs that she is a “stallion” when it comes to running and competition.

Kim finishing right behind Melissa

Kim finishing right behind Melissa

Want to know the difference between Kim and Melissa?  3 seconds today.  That was the time differential between the two runners.  She looked good finishing and looked like she was having fun.

Golden Shoes

Golden Shoes

Amber comes in right behind Kim.  The golden shoes had definitely propelled her forward throughout the race.  Here’s a few Vids from the race I was able to take after I crossed the finish line.

Why yes, I have lot’s of pix and vids today.

Brenda and Melissa with Medals

Brenda and Melissa with Medals

Here’s a few pix of other people (LandRunners).

Roger Wins the Race!

Roger Wins the Race!

KatieKramer

Katie wins the Women's Division

Kuykendall...Way too fast for me.

Kuykendall...Way too fast for me.

Jason finishes 3rd

Jason finishes 3rd

Picture from Monster Mash..Stopped by on way home.

Picture from Monster Mash..Stopped by on way home.

Here are some random pics that I wanted to post on the blog.  The last two at the bottom are from the Monster Mash in Norman.  We saw that the closing ceremonies were still going on so we stopped and took a few pictures of Snoopy and a dog in costume.

To sum up the race and the day….Wow!

Next week, Brenda goes to the Tulsa Run.  Melissa and I stay in OKC to do our final 20 mile run.

Dog in costume at Monster Mash

Dog in costume at Monster Mash

Leave a Reply

