Hey, what’s that on your shoulder? Tattoo.

Greetings fellow readers.  Sorry it’s been so long since i’ve posted but I’m back and ready to roll out quite an interesting blog entry today.  You see, it all started last Spring during a long training run.  Brenda and I discussed the possibility of getting a tattoo to celebrate a successful completion of the OKC Memorial Marathon.  At first, Brenda was a little taken back but as time went on, it made more sense to her.  More sense?  Yes more sense, running the marathon is no easy task.  It require a minimum of sixteen weeks of training out in all kinds of weather elements.  In this case, blistering cold (remember the Beacon).  Once the training is complete, here comes the easy part?  Running 26.2 miles at one time.

As many of you followed on the blog last year, we struggled and overcame all obstacles placed before us and Brenda and Alex officially became marathoners.  After the marathon time went by and we continued to talk about the tattoo idea and when it would be convenient for both of us.  We finally agreed upon a day…today.  

We got our tattoo at the Hall of Tattoo’s on Main Street Norman.  Derek Vosten was the tattoo artist.  Here’s the website…  http://www.halloftattoos.com/

Here's the place...I'm in the corner

Here's the place...I'm in the corner

Notice the big smile..before needle

Notice the big smile..before needle

Here I am at the beginning of tattoo

Here I am at the beginning of tattoo

It fun to watch Brenda's face

It fun to watch Brenda's face

Holding her husbands' hand..not a real smile

Holding her husbands' hand..not a real smile

Finished 26.2 tattoo

Finished 26.2 tattoo

Here's my 26.2 tattoo

Here's my 26.2 tattoo

I happen to see this roadrunner emblem yesterday and when I saw it, I quickly changed my tattoo over to this.  The picture doesn’t do it justice because it’s blurry but you do get the idea.

The final media I have from today is a video of Brenda when the tattoo first started.  I like how she’s all smiles but don’t let that fool you, it was a front.  However, she did great.  No tears which is huge for her.  After we left the Hall of Tattoo’s, we expressed how pleased we were with the final product and we would recommend Derek to others on such a venture.

4 responses to “Hey, what’s that on your shoulder? Tattoo.

  1. tattoo buddies forever!!!

  2. Oh My Gosh I haven’t checked the blog in a while and you have gone and got a tattoo…….I LOVE it! Looks like they did a fabulous job…..you guys ROCK.

    Lori

  3. yup, pretty much out of control. Melissa is almost trained up for her first marathon in late November.

  4. Thanks Lori. I really enjoy looking at the pix on your blog. May contact you this spring when the Memorial Marathon gets closer. Perhaps a few of us could pool some money together to pay you to take some marathon pictures. Something to think about.

Leave a Reply

