Bethany Freedom Run–4th of July

 
Brenda, Me, and Melissa

Brenda, Me, and Melissa

The Return of Melissa

Today I got up bright and early to run the Bethany Freedom Run 8K.  Not sure what the deal is with this rash of 8K races in the heat of the summer but I was game for it.  I met up with Brenda (little running buddy) and Melissa.  This was Melissa’s big return back into the running world. 

Lets take a quick step back about 7 weeks ago…Melissa was pregnant and soon gave birth.  Shortly after the birthing process, she has began working out with Brenda and I.  We circled this particular run several weeks ago as her big comeback date.  She made it and is quickly returning to her old body form.  Great job.  She gets embarrassed if I talk about her too much.  Have big plans for that girl in the running world.  If I can talk her into following my lead.

Lets get into the photos.

Brenda and Melissa before race

Brenda and Melissa before race

Brenda and Melissa after race

Brenda and Melissa after race

Okay, they have smiles on their faces after the race.  Both of them ran together and had a very nice time under an hour. 

Me and Melissa

Me and Melissa

I ended up running a 47 something time which is alright for me.  I lost some time when I went into a coughing fit at the beginning  (bronchitis).  Also, forgot to tie my shoes properly and had to stop and tie them during the race.  Urgh.

Special thanks to the fella right behind me that made me sprint the final part of the race.  I could hear him coming up on me quickly and something good triggered in me that made me sprint to the finish.  Just didn’t want someone to pass me the last few feet before the finish line.  In the grand scheme of things, not that big of a deal.  On a personal scale, that would have bothered me for awhile. 

Also, thanks for those runners who finish before I do and cheer on people like me.  When I turned the corner for the home stretch I heard several runners cheering me on and even heard my name used a few times.  That really does make a difference and makes me push faster and harder.  Thanks for that.   Oh and thanks to the weather for remaining overcast during the race.

Smiling or Hurting?

Smiling or Hurting?

Girls finsihing together...Ahh.

Girls finsihing together...Ahh.

Photos from http://okcrunning.org

What’s on deck?  Eye appointment on Monday…hopefully know when I will have my surgery.  Begin marathon training in mid July.  What marathon?  Looking heavily into the Kansas City Marathon in October.  Would like to use that as a warm up for the Route 66 in November.  Will be running the Midnight Streak in  OKC on July 25th.  My camera crew aka my wife will be with me.  Try to get some cool video. 

As always, i’ll continue to push myself limits and hopefully lose a few more pounds and make my running a little bit easier.  If you are ever in the Norman area, contact me and we can do some runs.  Until then…enjoy.

One response to “Bethany Freedom Run–4th of July

  1. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

