OKC Memorial Marathon

Marathon day has come and gone.  The good news is that Alex, Brenda, and I have completed the marathon.  This was the girls’ first marathon.  The bad news, i’m pretty banged up and they ran out of medals.  I’m a little disappointed for myself but alot disappointed for them because the first marathon is special and I remember looking at my first marathon medal back in November.  They will eventually get their medal from the OCMM. 

The morning started out early, real early.  Allona (wife) and I woke up around 3:30 and made it downtown by 5:00.  We chowed down on the free pancakes at the first church across from the memorial.

First Church Pancake Breakfast

First Church Pancake Breakfast

Rewind just for a second.  I ate four Zebra Cakes on the way down to the race, then I ate two pancakes and sausage at the church.  These people were very nice and welcoming into their church. 

Next we went outside for the sunrise service.  I will admit, I was ready to be emotionally moved from the service.  Instead, I was physically moved because the sprinklers came on and began shooting water all over the place and people became scrambling.  I got out of Dodge fast because I didn’t bring an extra pair of shoes.  Couldn’t afford to get my pair wet.

After recovering from the sprinkler fiasco, we took a few pictures of the start line.

Elite Runners Getting Ready

Elite Runners Getting Ready

As you can tell, the Elite runners forgot to leave spots for us up front.  We would later have to get in the back.  Way back.  Anyway, we met up with Kristin (K2 is her nickname).  She is always a chipper kind of person. 

Alex, Brenda, Kristin, Glen

Alex, Brenda, Kristin, Glen

Yes, my right eye looks red.  Kristin has on a bandana similar to Bret Michaels.  Brenda is looking away and Alex is the only one in tune with the camera.  My camera man (wife) took her traditional shoe shot as well.  Not really sure why she does this but I notice most marathons get a shoe shot.  I’ll put the pic in here in case she reads this blog.

Shoe Shot

Shoe Shot

Anyway, the race started and it took forever to make it to the starting line.  I have two videos of the starting line.  We can be seen in the last seconds of the second video.  I do see several LandRunner tank tops run by but its hard to tell who it was.  I do like these videos because it shows how big this race was this year.

Once the race got started, we settled in.  Alex had a few problems early with breathing.  A key ingredient of running and is recommended if you are a fan of living.  After awhile she settled down.  Brenda had real problems with her knees.  This would affect her most of the race.  Kristin ran with us for six miles before deciding to wait in a long bathroom line.

We chugged along through Lake Hefner.  Of course it was windy.  Majorly windy.  Lake Hefner hasn’t exactly won me over.  Everytime I run there, the conditions seem to be tough.  Remember the Beacon Run?  Urghh.  Anyway, we made it through Hefner and then fought the wind down Classen.  I swear Classen must have a wind machine that blows the opposite of the direction a runner runs.  If the course were reverse, the wind would blow from the North. 

Anyway, I did lots of people watching.  Seemed to be overly fascinated with the Iris blooms throughout the neighborhoods.  The last mile we could taste the end.  The pace quickened and we all finished together.  We hugged and then became disappointed about the medal.  Don’t get me wrong, the completion of a marathon should always be celebrated and it was.  It would have had a little more kick had the medals been around our necks.  I do give kuddo’s to Bill Snipe for waiting at the finish line and congratulating us.  Here are some finish line photos.

See the grins?

See the grins?

Aidan looking at Mom as she finishes

Aidan looking at Mom as she finishes

We finished together which is the way I had hoped.  Brenda and Alex finished their first marathon.  I fulfilled a promise and completed my third marathon this year.  Who knows what next year holds but I hope I have as much fun as I did this year.  Quick thanks to the LandRunners, families, and friends.  Without you guys, this would not have been possible.  Glad I saw Russell as well.

Farewall From Memorial

Farewall From Memorial

3 responses to “OKC Memorial Marathon

  1. What a great job under the circumstances today. Windy, warm, and humid. The good thing was it was overcast. Hope they get you your medals soon.

  2. We did it!!! Today the victory seems more sweet, I guess because the pain is subsiding! It is subsiding so much I may try it again next year! If you would have asked me this yesterday I would have said no way but the victory is so nice. And I like the sound of a “MARATHONER”

  3. So sorry you didn’t get a medal, that sucks! I love that you all finished together, what a great marathon experience.

    Great job! Bring on the next one right?

Leave a Reply

