Miracle Run 09

Woke up bright and early and immediately started thinking about the Miracle.

No, not that miracle.  Today was the OU Health Science Center Miracle Run.  This was one of the series races on the OKC Running Club calendar.  I’m doing my best to make as many of these races as possible.  The weather for the day was great.  Temperatures were not too hot, cloudy, and no wind. 

I went to line up for the starting gun and low and behold, I had a fellow LandRunner beside me.  I introduced myself  and found out that the runner’s name was Kurt.  I see Kurt at many of the 5K races, the reason I remember him is because he kicks my tail every race.  No matter how fast I go.  Not upset at all.  I truly race against myself but I like to tease people all of the time, including strangers.

Here’s the start of the race….FYI  you will see Kurt beside me (if you are able to recognize me).

The race started off pretty fast for me.  Normally I do not start off so fast but I have been in Tapor mode for the marathon and had plenty of energy to use.  This energy was short lived.  I think my diet change these last three weeks is hindering some of my energy.  Needless to say, I discovered that the majority of the race was a hill.  I really do not mind hills but I tend to tire out between mile 2 and 3 when running hills in a 5K.  Note to self, run Edmond Hills periodically this summer. 

I kept a medium pace even when I was tired.  Overall I was pretty happy with how I felt after the run.  The time didn’t impress me but times are losing importance to me as I get deeper into my running.  Interestingly, another Landrunner whom I have not met yet was just ahead of me.  I think his name is Artie?  Just like Kurt, Artie? usually just edges me out in 5K races.  Kinda funny how you see the same people and you end up in relatively the same finishing order. 

The race is over now and I feel great.  I have 7 more days until my date with the Memorial Marathon.  I think my running girls are ready.  They were absent for today’s race. 

I’ve attached a few more pics because Frank and Lydia really had a blast today at the race!!!

Being told about hills in the race

Being told about hills in the race

Frank and Lydia

Frank and Lydia

Posing Before Race

Posing Before Race

Post Race Goofing Around with my kids

Post Race Goofing Around with my kids

Starting Line Photo

Starting Line Photo

No Race Complete without Crying

No Race Complete without Crying

Okay….finally, the highlight of the day….Frank ran beside me before the race.  I hope to someday run a 5K with him.  He’s only three but perhaps a few years from now.  That’d be a thrill someday.

Memorial, ready or not, here we come!

Leave a Reply

