Man vs. Taco Soup, Oh & Last 20 Miler

I actually made a meal on Saturday that required more than simply placing frozen food in the middle of plate and microwaving for a given amount of time.  Taco Soup was my cooking venture on Saturday and I do feel like I did a decent job.  The reason I tell you this is because I had my final 20 mile run before the Memorial Marathon and Taco Soup tried to prevent me from accomplishing this final task.  So lets look at the two competitors that made this epic battle known as Rumble in the Tummy. 

First , in this corner we have Glen. 

  • 36 years old
  • 6 ft. 2 in.
  • 231 pounds
  • Running for almost a year
  • Likes to sleep

In the other corner we have Taco Soup.

  • 1 1/2 pounds of chicken
  • 1 can of pinto beans
  • 1 can of rotel
  • 1 package of ranch seasoning
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 1 can of stew tomato
  • 1 package of taco season

Taco Soup gave me a run for the money early in the run but I ended up winning out and was able to finish the race painfree.  Heck of a soup but would not recommend the day before a long run.  I would suggest running in a close radius from one’s own bathroom just in case.   Look at all of the beans….geesh.  I was an idiot.

Sunday was the last 20 mile run of the training group for the Memorial Marathon season.  For those of you who are new to my blog, I just completed the Little Rock Marathon less than a month ago.  I then decided to focus on running the Memorial Marathon with a special emphasis on friends.  I have placed my efforts towards two wonderful runners and friends.  I have happily promised to help them train and complete the Memorial Marathon.  This opportunity has allowed me to gain a greater appeciation for running and friendship.  Running and friendship appear to be directly correlated with each other.   I have learned alot about both as a result of these runs.

We started running the course about 20 minutes before the group started running.  A few weeks ago, we had waited for announcements and ended up being the last one’s in, thus finding out that the water and gatorade jugs had been emptied before we had finished running.  The early depature strategy worked.  We were able to fuel up and had plenty after the run.  Although, we did have a stop that no longer had cups.  I ended up drinking out of a cup that some stranger had used.  I’m not too proud.  Plus, i’ve did alot worse before.

The weather was cool and windy.  The northerly winds helped push us down the homsestretch.  We finished in style and never stopped to walk the entire way (except for water stations).  I am very proud of my running gals.  I know in a few short weeks, we will be completing the Memorial together.  This will be a good time.  I have taken a few pictures from the day. 

Viewing the Survivor Tree After Run

Viewing the Survivor Tree After Run

Alex, Brenda, Glen, and Survivor Tree

Alex, Brenda, Glen, and Survivor Tree

Post Run Race to IHOP

Post Run Race to IHOP

Chocoalte Chip Pancake

Chocoalte Chip Pancake

Okay, this week will be pretty uneventful.  I will be running the Limbs for Life in a few weeks before running the Memorial.  As usual, I’m sure i’ll start getting reflective as the big day approaches.  I’ll try not to be too sappy.  Later.

7 responses to “Man vs. Taco Soup, Oh & Last 20 Miler

  1. I always laugh when you say your runs have been good. Based on this post, I can really laugh!!

    I’ve got to stop hanging out with 6th graders.

  2. Well, I can honestly say..the idea of you trying not to anally explode from taco soup has made it pretty much a solid fact that I will never ever eat taco soup ever again ever.

  3. Did you run in the Redbud? What is your running status? All is fine here, we are just doing the time until the big one in a few weeks.

  4. I have not been able to run in a while, per drs request. I am totally off my training. However, today i found out after my mri that the the issue seems to be bone bruising/fluid etc. Therefore, I am now able to start running slowly. I am signed up for the half and trying to figure out how to get ready quickly. Any suggestions?

  5. Sue, I do believe that you will complete the half. I gather that you’re a pretty tough individual. I’d just go slow and enjoy the sights of the run. The last training run is next week at Stars and Stripes. It is an 8 miler. If your able, love to see you there.

  6. I am coming to that run. If I can do the 8 I will do the 13. I would love it if you guys wouldn’t mind a 4th wheel tagging with you. When I ran with you and Brenda, your motivation was contagious. Also, the possibilty of talking myself into stopping went away…..some helpful accountability. I’ll see you all there.

  7. I’ll be looking for you on Sunday. Always waelcome to run with us.

Leave a Reply

