Training Update

I’m not sure where this blog update will go because I am very hot/cold today mentally and physically.  As of this writing, i’m starting to feel like i have that stinkin’ virus again.  I do know I am running a low grade temperature.  Perhaps I am teething.  Today was also a very stressful day and i’m not really sure why.

A couple of random thoughts….

I never want to be that old dude wearing short shorts.  That is just gross.

Chinese food does not mix well when you plan on running.  Dang you pungent chicken.

Climbing stairs at 5:30 in the morning doesn’t sound good on paper or in reality.

 

Okay, back to reality.  I ran six miles tonight and I lack only four miles to make my forty mile week.  I am a little concerned about my health right now because there are several people I know who have had a virus and there is a definite possibility I have it again. 

A couple of deep thoughts from me as I was running…..

I have spent months running, training, and losing weight.  I realize that I need to work on training my mind to be more patient with people and love everyone regardless of whether they love me.  I suspect it will be easier to train for a marathon than change my mental behaviors.  Too often in the past, I get my feelings hurt rather easily and that changes how I view someone for a given time.  I instantly become uncomfortable because I want to be liked by everyone.  I need thicker skin that keeps me more level and I need to be more empathetic to other people.  So in a way i’m on a mental and physical quest. 

Another thought as I ran tonight was a Thoreau quote….

 went into the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life…to put to rout all that was not life; and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.
~Henry David Thoreau

Think about this quote and see how it applies to your life or the life you want to live.

That is all for now, I will write more when i’m feeling a little better.

Leave a Reply

