Running Update

Another week of training.  I’m still logging approx. 40 miles a week and still doing the core exercise class.  The mileage is starting to get easier and my recovery time takes less time.  Even though i’m starting to get better with my running, I’m still a ways off from being ready for the Route 66 marathon in November.  In preparation for the route 66 marathon, I will running in the Tulsa Run in late October and then doing a 5K here in Norman just for fun. 

The Tulsa Run will give me a better idea of what it’s like to run in a major run and I plan to do my best while taking in the festivities of the race.  The problem with the Tulsa Run is that its still short enough for me to push myself in regards to speed.  Whereas, the marathon will enable me to be slow and steady over a long period of time. 

I must keep perspective and realize the reason I am running.  In case you want to know, the main reason is because I want to have fun and be healthier at the same time.  I do not want to get too bogged down looking at my watch as I run.  Look at my blog title, “Road to Shambala,” I question whether it is ever attainable for me but I suspect I am closest to that state of mind when i’m running.

Leave a Reply

