Renaissance Run 9/27

Frank wearing Rennaisance Run Shirt

Frank wearing Rennaisance Run Shirt

Frank and Daddy after race
Frank and Daddy after race
Frank, Sissy, and Daddy relaxing

Frank, Sissy, and Daddy relaxing

Today marks the second time that I offically ran in a race.  This time the race day was different because I was by myself and mostly kept to myself.  The Renaissance Run was in Midwest City and was sponsored by the Library.  The length of the race was 5K.  The course started off with plenty of downhill running which I quickly realized was not a good thing because soon the downhills became uphills.  The good news this time is that I emptied my tank and was able to be tired at the end of the run.  I started cramping on the final stretch right as an gentleman passed me.  This of course challenged me to sprint what little I had left and I just edge that fella out at the finish line.  My time was much better than last time at 24:40 which is low 8 minute miles.  Now this sets up my showdown with the Tulsa Zoo Run which will be my first 10K run.  I’m excited about this race because I’m on a team with some friends and I do not want to disappoint them. 

Three things that I learned after this race…

1.  Do not start the race behind three people that look like the know each other.  This pretty much created a road block that took valuable seconds to get around at the beginning of the race.

2.  Pancakes are worth running for.  There was a pancake fest after the run and that was the best tasting pancakes ever.  The taste was enhance by the sense of accomplishment.

3.  Its better to burnout than fade away.  In other words, lay it all out there. 

Now I’m going to attempt to post a few picks of after the race when I got home.

Leave a Reply

